2018 Election Results

STATEWIDE – Republicans again won all statewide offices on the ballot. Democrats have not won a statewide office in Texas since 1994. This is a non-Presidential election year but most of the statewide offices were on the ballot including races for: U.S. Senate (Ted Cruz), Governor (Greg Abbott), Lt. Governor (Dan Patrick), Attorney General (Ken Paxton), Comptroller (Glenn Hegar), Agriculture Commissioner (Sid Miller), Land Commissioner (George P. Bush), Railroad Commissioner (Christi Craddick), three Texas Supreme Court Justices (Jimmy Blacklock, John Devine, and Jeff Brown), and two Court of Criminal Appeals Justices (Sharon Keller and Barbara Parker Hervey).

Voter Turnout – 52.72% of registered voters (8,326,216 voters) cast ballots. That compares to 59.16% (8,934,718 voters) in 2016; and 33% (4,708,556 voters) in 2014.

TEXAS CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS – There are 36 members of the Texas congressional delegation. All 36 members of the delegation were up for re-election this year.

Partisan Makeup:
Currently, there are 25 Republicans and 11 Democrats in the Texas Congressional Delegation. The Democrats picked up two seats (Congressional Districts 7 and 32). In 2019, the partisan split will be 23 Republicans and 13 Democrats.

8 Incumbent Members of Congress Did Not Seek Re-election:
Joe Barton (R-Ennis) in Congressional District 6
Blake Farenthold (R-Corpus Christi) in Congressional District 27 (resigned on April 6, 2018)
Gene Green (D-Houston) in Congressional District 29
Jeb Hensarling (R-Dallas) in Congressional District 5
Sam Johnson (R-Plano) in Congressional District 3
Beto O’Rourke (D-El Paso) in Congressional District 16
Ted Poe (R-Humble) in Congressional District 2
Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio) in Congressional District 21

2 Incumbent Members of Congress Were Defeated in the General Election:
John Culberson (R-Houston) in Congressional District 7
Pete Sessions (R-Dallas) in Congressional District 32

New Members of Congress in the Texas Delegation in 2019:
Congressional District 2 – Dan Crenshaw (R-Houston)
Congressional District 3 – Van Taylor (R-Plano)
Congressional District 5 – Lance Gooden (R-Terrell)
Congressional District 6 – Ron Wright (R-Fort Worth)
Congressional District 7 – Lizzie Pannill Fletcher (D-Houston)
Congressional District 16 – Veronica Escobar (D-El Paso)
Congressional District 21 – Chip Roy (R-Austin)
Congressional District 27 – Michael Cloud (R-Victoria) – he is already in Congress filling the unexpired term of Congressman Blake Farenthold
Congressional District 29 – Sylvia Garcia (D-Houston)
Congressional District 32 – Colin Allred (D-Dallas)

TEXAS SENATE – The Texas Senate has 31 members. Since Senate members serve staggered four-year terms, only 15 of the 31 Senate members were up for re-election in 2018.

Partisan Makeup:
The Texas Senate currently has 21 Republicans and 10 Democrats. In 2017, the Senate had 20 Republicans and 11 Democrats. But, Republican Pete Flores won the September 18, 2018 Special Election Run-off to replace Democratic State Senator Carlos Uresti. The Democrats picked up two seats (Senate Districts 10 and 16) in the General Election. In 2019, the partisan makeup of the Texas Senate will be 19 Republicans and 12 Democrats.

One Incumbent Senate Member Did Not Seek Re-election:
Van Taylor (R-Plano) in Senate District 8

One incumbent Senate Member Was Defeated in the Primary Election:
Senator Craig Estes in Senate District 30

2 incumbent Senate Members were Defeated in the General Election:
Konni Burton (R-Colleyville) in Senate District 10
Don Huffines (R-Dallas) in Senate District 16

New Members of the Texas Senate in 2019:
Senate District 8 – Angela Paxton (R-McKinney)
Senate District 10 – Beverly Powell (D-Burleson)
Senate District 16 – Nathan Johnson (D-Dallas)
Senate District 19 – Peter P. Flores (R-Pleasanton) – he was sworn into the Senate on October 12, 2018
Senate District 30 – Pat Fallon (R-Prosper)
Note: Democrat Sylvia Garcia of Houston won Congressional District 29. She will be resigning from the Texas Senate necessitating a special election in Senate District 6.

TEXAS HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES – There are 150 House members. All 150 members of the House were up for re-election in 2018.

Partisan Makeup:
The Texas House currently has 95 Republicans and 55 Democrats. The Democrats picked up 12 seats (House Districts 45, 47, 52, 65, 102, 105, 113, 114, 115, 132, 135, and 136). In 2019, the House will have 83 Republicans and 67 Democrats.

13 Incumbent House Members Did Not Seek Re-election:
Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale) in House District 113
Byron Cook (R-Corsicana) in House District 8
Pat Fallon (R-Frisco) in House District 106
Helen Giddings (D-Dallas) in House District 109
Larry Gonzales (R-Round Rock) in House District 52
Lance Gooden (R-Terrell) in House District 4
Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs) in House District 45
Mark Keough (R-The Woodlands) in House District 15
Jodie Laubenberg (R-Wylie) in House District 89
Larry Phillips (R-Sherman) in House District 62
Kevin Roberts (R-Houston) in House District 126
Leighton Schubert (R-Caldwell) in House District 13
Joe Straus (R-San Antonio) in House District 121

6 Incumbent House Members Were Defeated in the Primary Elections:
Wayne Faircloth (R-Dickinson) in House District 23
Dawnna Dukes (D-Austin) in House District 46
Roberto Alonzo (D-Dallas) in House District 104
Jason Villalba (R-Dallas) in House District 114
Diana Arevalo (D-San Antonio) in House District 116
Tomas Uresti (D-San Antonio) in House District 118

2 Incumbent House Members Were Defeated in the Run-off Elections:
Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville) in House District 37
Scott Cosper (R-Killeen) in House District 54

8 Incumbent House Members Were Defeated in the General Election:
Paul Workman (R-Austin) in House District 47
Ron Simmons (R-Carrollton) in House District 65
Linda Koop (R-Dallas) in House District 102
Rodney Anderson (R-Grand Prairie) in House District 105
Matt Rinaldi (R-Irving) in House District 115
Mike Schofield (R-Katy) in House District 132
Gary Elkins (R-Houston) in House District 135
Tony Dale (R-Cedar Park) in House District 136

29 New Members of the Texas House in 2019:
House District 4 – Keith Bell (R-Forney)
House District 8 – Cody Harris (R-Palestine)
House District 13 – Ben Leman (R-Brenham) – he is already a member of the Texas House filling the unexpired term of Representative Leighton Schubert
House District 15 – Steve Toth (R-The Woodlands)
House District 23 – Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville)
House District 37 – Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville)
House District 45 – Erin Zwiener (D-Driftwood)
House District 46 – Sheryl Cole (D-Austin)
House District 47 – Vikki Goodwin (D-Austin)
House District 52 – James Talarico (D-Round Rock)
House District 54 – Brad Buckley (R-Killeen)
House District 62 – Reggie Smith (R-Sherman)
House District 65 – Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton)
House District 89 – Candy Noble (R-Allen)
House District 102 – Ana-Maria Ramos (D-Richardson)
House District 104 – Jessica Gonzalez (D-Dallas)
House District 105 – Terry Meza (D-Irving)
House District 106 – Jared Patterson (R-Frisco)
House District 109 – Carl Sherman, Sr. (D-Dallas)
House District 113 – Rhetta Andrews Bowers (D-Rowlett)
House District 114 – John Turner (D-Dallas)
House District 115 – Julie Johnson (D-Carrollton)
House District 116 – Trey Martinez Fischer (D-San Antonio)
House District 118 – Leo Pacheco (D-San Antonio)
House District 121 – Stephen Allison (R-San Antonio)
House District 126 – Sam Harless (R-Spring)
House District 132 – Gina Calanni (D-Katy)
House District 135 – Jon Rosenthal (D-Houston)
House District 136 – John Bucy (D-Austin)